Being Accountable

Standard

When we reach our weight loss goals, there is a maintenance plan we must follow in order to maintain our weight. We must be conscious of how our clothing fit and notice any fluctuations in our weight when we weigh in. It’s also helps to have a support system. You can share the highs and lows of your journey. There will always be good days and not so good days. We hold each other accountable by sharing all of those moments.

A week ago I had a body fat test done; my first body fat test was July 2013. The results of last week’s test reflected a 3.4% increase in my body fat and a 1 pound increase in weight. The increase in body fat was puzzling to me. I expected my body fat to be lower, not higher! After noticing my reaction, the rep ask me if I was doing anything differently today ( with my eating habits, or exercise routines).

My wheels start turning as I try to figure out why the increase in body fat. I realized my cardio has decreased a little from a year ago. Also, I’m eating more through out the day, Over the last few months I’ve been eating every 2 hours like clock work. I cut back on chips and added snacks such as peanuts, avocado and nuts. All of those foods have healthy fats, but are high calories.

What I decided to do was pay more attention to my portion sizes and maybe snack every 3 hours versus every 2 hours. Snacking often has did wonders for my metabolism so I will continue to snack in between breakfast and lunch and in between lunch and dinner. I will be more conscious of my options by eating more of the lower calorie foods and less of the higher calorie/ high fat foods.

Why is eating often is so important?

Each time you eat, you stimulate your metabolism for a short period of time, which means that the more often you eat, the more you’ll increase your metabolism. Eating every 2 to 3 hours feeds muscle and starves fat. By eating frequently, you reassure your body that you aren’t going to starve; that food will always be available. Skipping breakfast, eating only a sandwich for lunch, and pigging out at dinner, on the other hand, frightens your body into storing fat, just in case your next meal never comes. Research shows that people who eat every 2 to 3 hours have less body fat and faster metabolisms than those who eat only 2 or 3 meals per day.

… But eat right. Frequent eating doesn’t mean mindless snacking. Rather than munching mindlessly, make each mini-meal complete — with a serving of vegetables and a healthy source of protein like eggs, chicken, or nuts. Upping your intake of high-fiber foods like vegetables is one of the best ways to increase your metabolism. Fiber is a non-digestible carbohydrate, but the body tries hard to break it down anyway, using up energy — and boosting metabolism in the process. Plus, vegetables are low in calories, yet high in nutrients — a huge boon for your weight loss efforts.

Pay attention to the changes in your body and how your clothing fits. Hold yourself and let’s hold each other accountable.

Lavone

Leave a Reply

